Stone Records

Independent Classical Music

Formed in 2008 with the aim of producing high quality classical CDs, Stone Records has received critical acclaim for its ambitious catalogue. We look forward to making more interesting and inspiring music in the future; to stay up to date with our releases, register for our newsletter.


Stephan Loges


Sholto Kynoch


Simon Lepper


Geraldine McGreevy


Marcus Farnsworth


Hugo Wolf – the complete songs – vol.5: Heine, Reinick, Shakespeare & Byron

Download Pdf Booklet
Related Albums
Hugo Wolf – the complete songs – vol.1: Mörike Lieder part 1
Hugo Wolf – the complete songs – vol.2: Mörike Lieder part 2
Hugo Wolf – the complete songs – vol.3: Italienisches Liederbuch
Hugo Wolf – the complete songs – vol.4: Keller, Fallersleben, Ibsen & other poets
Hugo Wolf – the complete songs – vol.6: Lenau & Spanisches Liederbuch (Geistliche Lieder)
Hugo Wolf – the complete songs – vol.7: Spanisches Liederbuch – Weltliche Lieder
Hugo Wolf – the complete songs – vol.8: Eichendorff Lieder

The fifth disc in the first complete recording of the songs of Hugo Wolf (1860-1903), recorded live at the Oxford Lieder Festival. This fifth disc features settings of Heine, Reinick, Shakespeare and Byron.

Buy Now

Related Artists: Sarah-Jane Brandon, Daniel Norman, William Dazeley, Sholto Kynoch


Catalogue No: 5060192780215


The quality of sound in these latest discs in Stone’s Wolf series is wonderfully vivid and full of presence … Presentation is first-rate … beautifully sung by Daniel Norman … Sarah Jane, aptly fresh, finely controlled … powerfully sung by William Dazeley. Sholto Kynoch is the excellent accompanist throughout. (Gramophone)

The latest instalment in this evolving anthology of Lieder by Hugo Wolf (1860-1903) is the best yet from the enterprising Stone Records, not least because it comprises some of Wolf’s liveliest – and, coincidentally, least-known – songs. The opening Heine group includes the seven Liederstrauss songs, sensitively handled by Norman. This is followed by a couple of Byron and Shakespeare settings, and a plentiful selection of Reinick, whose poetry brought out a genial quality in Wolf. The programme is intelligently varied in pace, content and voice-type, with Dazeley’s baritone providing the most character and Brandon’s soprano the purest lyricism. Their German diction is surprisingly good. **** (Financial Times)

An inspiration for all! (Classical Iconoclast)

The ever-impressive Oxford Lieder Festival – ****  (BBC Music Magazine)

Track listing

  1. Sie haben heut’ abend Gesellschaft
  2. Ich stand in dunkeln Träumen
  3. Das ist ein Brausen und Heulen
  4. Aus meinen grossen Schmerzen
  5. Mir träumte von einem Königskind
  6. Mein Liebchen, wir sassen beisammen
  7. Es blasen die blauen Husaren
  8. Wo ich bin, mich rings umdunkelt
  9. Es war ein alter König
  10. Ernst ist der Frühling
  11. Mädchen mit dem roten Mündchen
  12. Du bist wie eine Blume
  13. Wenn ich in deine Augen seh’
  14. Spätherbstnebel
  15. Mit schwarzen Segeln
  16. Sterne mit den goldnen Füsschen
  17. Wie des Mondes Abbild zittert
  18. Wo wird einst
  19. Lied des transferierten Zettel
  20. Sonne der Schlummerlosen
  21. Keine gleicht von allen Schönen
  22. Gesellenlied
  23. Morgenstimmung
  24. Skolie
  25. Wohin mit der Freud?
  26. Liebchen, wo bist du?
  27. Nachtgruss
  28. Frühlingsglocken
  29. Ständchen
  30. Liebesbotschaft
  31. Frohe Botschaft
  32. Dem Vaterland