Stone Records

Independent Classical Music

Find out about our new releases and other events by following us on Facebook and Twitter.


Mary-Louise Aitken


Louise Alder


Susanna Andersson


Ardingly College Schola Cantorum


The complete Quilter songbook – vol.3

Download Pdf Booklet
Related Albums
The complete Quilter songbook – vol.1
The complete Quilter songbook – vol.2

The third disc in a four-disc series that will comprise the first complete recording of the songs of Roger Quilter (1877-1953).

Buy Now

Related Artists: Mark Stone, Stephen Barlow


Catalogue No: 5060192780956


EDITOR’S CHOICE – Mark Stone could not be more sensitive in his response to the words with his remarkably clear diction, and his accompanist, Stephen Barlow, is comparably understanding, helped by the realistic sound quality recorded in the Champs Hill Music Room. Stone’s own detailed notes on each song as well as his brief biography of Quilter ideally enhance enjoyment. An outstanding disc of English song, making one look forward to the forthcoming issues in this Quilter songbook. (Gramophone)

CHOICE FOR THE CURIOUS (The New Release Show, Classic FM)

Stone’s sturdy baritone and Barlow’s bright accompaniment bring out the Debussyian melodic elegance in Quilter’s songs, while avoiding the preciosity that sometimes afflicts them **** (BBC Music)

Stephen Barlow’s project to record all of Quilter’s songs is a worthy one… this first instalment, sensitively sung by baritone Mark Stone with Barlow accompanying, is a promising start (The Guardian)

Stone’s engagingly natural style and immaculate diction are supported by Barlow’s sympathetic playing. (Sunday Times)

Rich in nuance, sensual contrasts of colour and range of textual expression… collectively eloquent and ideally committed to extracting the essence of each song – **** (Classic FM Magazine)

His lyric baritone has warmth, and he is quite effective at conveying words and meaning as well as phrasing with sensitivity. If you have either or both of the discs I mentioned, and feel that you have all the Quilter you need, this may be superfluous. But if you don’t have those and you are a collector of vocal music—particularly English vocal music—this is definitely worth acquiring. Also, if either of those earlier discs turned you into a serious Quilter fan, here is a very good way of expanding your collection … Stephen Barlow is an alert, colorful collaborator at the piano, and the natural recorded sound is perfectly balanced between voice and keyboard. Stone provides excellent notes about the young Quilter (presumably subsequent volumes will focus on his later years) along with specific notes about each song or group of songs along with complete texts. This is a model of how to produce a disc of this nature. (Fanfare)

Track listing

  1. Drink to me only with thine eyes
  2. Over the mountains
  3. My Lady Greensleeves
  4. The jolly miller
  5. Barbara Allen
  6. Three poor mariners
  7. Since first I saw your face
  8. What will you do, love?
  9. Wind from the south
  10. Believe me, if all those endearing young charms
  11. Oh! ’tis sweet to think
  12. The rose of Tralee
  13. The walled-in garden
  14. I got a robe
  15. Slumber song
  16. Ye banks and braes
  17. Charlie is my darling
  18. Ca’ the yowes to the knowes
  19. Freedom
  20. If love should pass me by
  21. Love calls through the summer night
  22. The cradle In Bethlehem
  23. The man behind the plough
  24. My lady’s garden
  25. Pretty month of May
  26. Vous et moi
  27. Mond, du bist glücklicher als ich
  28. Neig’ schöne Knospe dich zu mir
  29. Und was die Sonne glüht
  30. Ich fühle deinen Odem
  31. Die helle Sonne leuchtet
  32. Daisies after rain
  33. The Ash Grove