Download PDF Booklet

Related Albums

Hugo Wolf – the complete songs – vol.6: Lenau & Spanisches Liederbuch (Geistliche Lieder)

The sixth disc in the first complete recording of the songs of Hugo Wolf (1860-1903), recorded live at the Oxford Lieder Festival. This sixth disc features settings of Lenau and the sacred texts from the Spanish songbook.


Buy NowStream Now

Catalogue Number: 5060192780284


The quality of sound in these latest discs in Stone’s Wolf series is wonderfully vivid and full of presence … Presentation is first-rate … Anna Huntley, nicely evocative … pointedly sung by Bejamin Hulett … well brought out by Marcus Farnsworth … Birgid Steinberger shading her tone beautifully. Sholto Kynoch is the excellent accompanist throughout … Another splendidly wide-ranging selection of songs. (Gramophone)

These pioneer recordings are the most significant achievement of the Oxford Lieder project, and on that count alone it represents a landmark. But Kynoch’s commitment to live performance by young singers should not be diminished by comparison with the all-time great recordings. It renews the lifeblood of a long tradition, which has found a thriving home in Oxford. (Oxford Today)

An inspiration for all! (Classical Iconoclast)

The ever-impressive Oxford Lieder Festival – ****  (BBC Music Magazine)

Track listing
  1. An***
  2. Traurige Wege
  3. Nächtliche Wanderung
  4. Herbstentschluss
  5. Frage nicht
  6. Herbst
  7. Scheideblick
  8. Meeresstille
  9. Stille Sicherheit
  10. Liebesfrühling
  11. Frühlingsgrüsse
  12. Abendbilder
  13. Nun bin ich dein
  14. Die du Gott gebarst, du Reine
  15. Nun wandre, Maria
  16. Die ihr schwebet
  17. Führ mich, Kind, nach Bethlehem
  18. Ach, des Knaben Augen
  19. Mühvoll komm’ ich und beladen
  20. Ach, wie lang die Seele schlummert!
  21. Herr, was trägt der Boden hier
  22. Wunden trägst du, mein Geliebter