Download PDF Booklet

Related Albums

Hugo Wolf – the complete songs – vol.9: Michelangelo Lieder & early songs

The ninth disc in the first complete recording of the songs of Hugo Wolf (1860-1903), recorded live at the Oxford Lieder Festival, featuring his settings of the poet Michelangelo and his early songs.

Buy NowStream Now

Catalogue Number: 5060192780673


With only two more volumes to go, Stone’s collection of Wolf’s songs in association with Oxford Lieder here culminates in the late austere Michelangelo-Gedichte, sung with grave, rugged grandeur by the veteran Robert Hill. But the highlights are the contributions of the bright German soprano Lydia Teuscher in the earlier Sechs Lieder – including Die Spinnerin and Mausfallen-Sprüchlein – and a collectable rarity, Gretchen vor dem Andachtsbild der Mater Dolorosa (from Goethe’s Faust). (Sunday Times)

The variety of portraits is matched by the palette of voices chosen by deviser and accompanist Sholto Kynoch. The baritone, David Stout, is the very incarnation of the stalwart stoic companion … Nicky Spence is more agile throughout his tenor range, and more expressive in his characterisation … Best of all, Katherine Broderick’s star-bright soprano creates sensuous nocturnes of silent love. (BBC Music Magazine)

The sound is clear and alive, the presentation exactly what one would want … Kynoch’s accompaniments are beautifully sensitive, flexible and transparent throughout, and all three singers engage intelligently with the texts … These are all refreshing and unfailingly engaging performances (Gramophone)

Track listing
  1. Auf dem See
  2. Erster Verlust
  3. Morgentau
  4. Das Vöglein
  5. Die Spinnerin
  6. Wiegenlied im Sommer
  7. Wiegenlied im Winter
  8. Mausfallen-Sprüchlein
  9. Gretchen vor dem Andachtsbild der Mater Dolorosa
  10. Wächterlied auf der Wartburg
  11. Der König bei der Krönung
  12. Biterolf
  13. Beherzigung I
  14. Wanderers Nachtlied
  15. Zur Ruh, zur Ruh!
  16. Suschens Vogel
  17. Die Tochter der Heide
  18. Sehnsucht
  19. Der Fischer
  20. Wohl denk’ ich oft
  21. Alles endet, was entstehet
  22. Fühlt meine Seele