Download PDF Booklet

Related Albums

Paul Carr: Four New Seasons & Saxophone Concerto

Music by English composer Paul Carr

Buy NowStream Now

Catalogue Number: 5060192781212



This is a finely presented CD. The performances from the baritone, William Dazeley in The Seven Last Words is excellent. The choral singing is always well-balanced and clear. And finally the Bath Philharmonia under Gavin Carr give a committed account of this deeply felt music. The liner-notes by the composer are always helpful. The sound quality is faultless. This is an excellent production from one of Britain’ leading composers. Every piece is enjoyable, approachable and ultimately inspiring and often moving. It may be that some folk will not approve of Paul Carr’s largely ‘traditional’ musical language. However, to my ear this CD proves that there is still ever so much to be ‘said’ using a largely tonal musical structure. This music does not require any ‘ism’ but simply a genuine inspiration — truly devotional in the broadest sense. (MusicWeb International)

Track listing
  1. Four New Seasons – Spring – I – Loveliest of Trees
  2. Four New Seasons – Spring – II – When Lilacs Last in the Dooryard Bloom’d
  3. Four New Seasons – Spring – III – Dear March – Come in
  4. Four New Seasons – Summer – I – Shall I Compare Thee to a Summer’s Day?
  5. Four New Seasons – Summer – II – Wild Nights – Wild Nights!
  6. Four New Seasons – Summer – III – Summer Storm
  7. Four New Seasons – Autumn – I – Autumn Fires
  8. Four New Seasons – Autumn – II – Fall, Leaves, Fall
  9. Four New Seasons – Autumn – III – Autumn Song
  10. Four New Seasons – Winter – I – A Winter Dawn
  11. Four New Seasons – Winter – II – In the Bleak Midwinter
  12. Four New Seasons – Winter – III – It Sifts from Leaden Sieves
  13. Saxophone Concerto – I – Allegro energico
  14. Saxophone Concerto – II – The Unusual Quietness of Snow
  15. Saxophone Concerto – III – September Music