Download PDF Booklet

Related Albums

Requiem æternam

The debut CD from Somerville College, Oxford, performing the much-loved Duruflé Requiem and the première recording of Milford’s Mass for five voices.


Buy NowStream Now

Catalogue Number: 5060192780208


Crown and his students can be proud of their accomplishment. They have managed to convey the mystery and the majesty of Duruflé’s masterpiece. Organist Tristan Mitchard is up to his considerable task; remember that Duruflé was a celebrated virtuoso. The soloists are, as desired, fine. I applaud the choir for its spirit. (Fanfare)

Durufle’s Requiem and Milford’s Mass for Five Voices were written in the same post-war period, but are, of course, very different. But heard together, we can appreciate the humanity they have in common. This recording is a milestone for Milford, but also a showcase for the Oxford college choir tradition, created afresh by the Somerville College Choir. It seems odd to call a CD of Masses a hit, but this one is! (Classical Iconoclast)

This disc is most valuable for the Milford, which should be investigated by all lovers of English liturgical music – but by others too. The Durufle is given a nicely recessed performance which brings out all its charm and devotion. (Musicweb International)

Track listing
  1. Duruflé Requiem – Introït
  2. Duruflé Requiem – Kyrie
  3. Duruflé Requiem – Domine Jesu Christe
  4. Duruflé Requiem – Sanctus
  5. Duruflé Requiem – Pie Jesu
  6. Duruflé Requiem – Agnus Dei
  7. Duruflé Requiem – Lux æterna
  8. Duruflé Requiem – Libera me
  9. Duruflé Requiem – In Paradisum
  10. Milford Mass for five voices – Kyrie eleison
  11. Milford Mass for five voices – Gloria in excelsis
  12. Milford Mass for five voices – Credo
  13. Milford Mass for five voices – Sanctus
  14. Milford Mass for five voices – Benedictus
  15. Milford Mass for five voices – Agnus Dei