Download PDF Booklet

Related Albums

Ronald Corp: String, Paper, Wood

Première recordings of chamber works by Ronald Corp OBE

Buy NowStream Now

Catalogue Number: 5060192780246


As with the other works on this CD, Corp is well served by the musicians: Rebecca de Pont Davies is in full command of the composer’s rather wide-ranging melodic line, being naturally richer in her middle and upper registers. The inclusion of the intensely expressed texts in the booklet is an added advantage. An excellent recording (IRR)

Known mainly as a conductor of light music, Corp’s sunny String Quartet, spiky cantata, and flowing Clarinet Quintet mark him out as an engagingly colourful composer. Excellent performances. (BBC Music)

Superbly played by the Maggini, relishing the original textures that Corp devises for the four instruments … Corp’s writing is fluent in responding to each prose passage … Andrew Marriner is the brilliant clarinetist … Nicely intimate sound. (Gramophone)

Track listing
  1. String Quartet No.3 – I. Allegro piacevole
  2. String Quartet No.3 – II. Cantilena and scherzo
  3. String Quartet No.3 – III. Allegro giocoso
  4. The Yellow Wallpaper – An ancestral hall for the summer
  5. The Yellow Wallpaper – We took the nursery at the top of the house
  6. The Yellow Wallpaper – I don’t know why I should write this
  7. The Yellow Wallpaper – It changes as the light changes
  8. The Yellow Wallpaper – The smell
  9. The Yellow Wallpaper – Only two more days to get this paper off
  10. Clarinet Quintet (‘Crawhall’) – I. Semplice – Allegro energico
  11. Clarinet Quintet (‘Crawhall’) – II. Andante
  12. Clarinet Quintet (‘Crawhall’) – III. Allegretto grazioso
  13. Clarinet Quintet (‘Crawhall’) – IV. Allegro vivace