Download PDF Booklet

Related Albums

The complete Delius songbook – vol.1

The first CD in a two-disc series that comprises the first recording of the complete songs of Frederick Delius (1862-1934).


Buy NowStream Now

Related Artists: Mark Stone, Stephen Barlow

Catalogue Number: 5060192780062


Stone and Barlow are wonderfully matched and keenly aware of how to bring out the inner life in these songs…these performances perfectly balance all of the elements integral to Delius’s world… the recorded sound is so naturally balanced that you stop thinking about it just a few minutes into listening. Stone and Barlow should feel very proud of what they have accomplished here. This fills a major gap in the catalogue. (Fanfare)

With fresh-minted accompaniments from Stephen Barlow, Stone proves an expert guide not just by uncovering little-known manuscripts, but by investing Delius’s songs with verve and variety of mood, in part through his intelligent diction – **** (Financial Times)

Rich in nuance, sensual contrasts of colour and range of textual expression… collectively eloquent and ideally committed to extracting the essence of each song – **** (Classic FM Magazine)

Stone’s engagingly natural style and immaculate diction are supported by Barlow’s sympathetic playing (Sunday Times)

Track listing
  1. Twilight fancies
  2. Young Venevil
  3. Hidden love
  4. The minstrel
  5. The birds’ story
  6. Cradle song
  7. The homeward way
  8. It was a lover and his lass
  9. So white, so soft, so sweet is she
  10. Spring, the sweet spring
  11. To daffodils
  12. Over the mountains high
  13. Mountain life
  14. They are not long, the weeping and the laughter
  15. Little birdie
  16. The nightingale has a lyre of gold
  17. I-Brasîl
  18. In the forest
  19. I once had a newly cut willow pipe
  20. Indian love song
  21. Love’s philosophy
  22. To the queen of my heart
  23. Slumber song
  24. The nightingale
  25. Summer eve
  26. Longing
  27. Sunset