Download PDF Booklet

Related Albums

The complete Havergal Brian songbook – vol.2

The second CD in a two-disc series that comprises the complete songs of Havergal Brian (1876-1972).


Buy NowStream Now

Catalogue Number: 5060192780277


Brian fanatics, while no doubt queueing up for more, will savour the consistently strong performance by these three fine musicians (BBC Music Magazine)

Mark Stone and Sholto Kynoch prove strong interpreters of the songs, some of the most individual in the British repertoire… Strongly recommended. (Gramophone)

Even when Brian’s prosody seems curious or arbitrary he shapes the vocal lines with a pleasing naturalness, and he finds an altogether more intimate approach in songs like ‘Farewell’. (Stone also provides the booklet notes, which are well researched and free from egregious error.) (International Record Review)

Track listing
  1. The defiled sanctuary
  2. Renunciation
  3. Lady Ellayne
  4. The land of dreams
  5. The birds
  6. Der König in Thule
  7. Gretchen am Spinnrade
  8. The mad maid’s song
  9. Why dost thou wound and break my heart
  10. The night piece
  11. Piping down the valleys wild
  12. The blossom
  13. The chimney sweeper
  14. The fly
  15. The little black boy
  16. Dear Adonis
  17. Transporting joy
  18. Four miniatures – I. Allegro
  19. Four miniatures – II. Lento tranquillo e sempre rubato
  20. Four miniatures – III. Andante e grazioso
  21. Four miniatures – IV. Andante tranquillo e sempre rubato
  22. When the sun goes down
  23. On parting
  24. Love is a merry game